PLP Passport Project: Ireland Interterm

With the support of the Pioneer Leadership Program’s Passport Fund, I was able to take part in the Ireland Interterm class from November 29, 2021, to December 10, 2021. Before taking part in this trip, I had very limited knowledge of Ireland, I just knew that I wanted to explore a new part of the world. What I found on the trip was a new appreciation for Ireland and its people, as well as my fellow PLP classmates.

Upon arrival in Dublin, we began discussing leaders of the Irish Independence Movement. In Dublin, we discussed the leaders of the 1916 Easter Rising, who provided a catalyst for the Irish War of Independence. From our walking tour of the city and our visit of the General Post Office, the headquarters of the Rising, I began to feel a connection to the Irish leaders from the past. So, when we finally saw Kilmainham Gaol, the location of the execution of these leaders, I was surprised to find my emotions incredibly moved, as I understood what these people still mean to the people of Ireland today. They sacrificed everything for their people through their leadership, and it was incredible to see their pictures hung in restaurants, pubs, and really any kind of building all around the city.

I also found an appreciation for Irish culture when we experienced Gaelic games, ancient sports that were revived during the independence movement to recreate an Irish national identity. One of the highlights of the trip for me was learning hurling and Gaelic football with everyone in the class while getting a chance to play against each other. While we weren’t very good, it was nice because everyone appreciated the importance of the games and was really having fun. I t was an incredible experience to have with my fellow PLPers and something that I will not be forgetting for a long time.

Outside of Dublin, we really got to experience Irish culture and history from the past. One of my favorite stops was Enniscorthy, where we got to learn about the 1798 Rebellion and visit Vinegar Hill, the site of the Irish rebels last stand, against the British crown forces. What was particularly inspiring about this site was that the Irish rebels were normal people fighting with farm tools against the strongest military on Earth at that time. While it ultimately failed, this rebellion inspired the next wave of supported of the Irish Republic. We spent the next day in Cobh, a harbor town, which was a major emigration point from Ireland. We also got to tour Spike Island, an old fortress and prison, that had stunning views of the ocean and coastline.

At our next stop in Cork, we got to see more of the country and gain a greater perspective on Irish history. Our walking tour guide was a city councilor in Cork, and he explained that celebrations of Irish freedom do not really take place because immediate following independence there was a brutal civil war between those who supported a treaty with the United Kingdom and those who did not. Because of this, there are still mixed emotions about the event and celebrations, even as we were in the country for the 100th anniversary of the treaty that gave Ireland independence. It was a very interesting tour, and we also got a really cool view of the city, while finding away to fit everyone in our class on a narrow walkway at a fort.

The remainder of the trip was one of the most exciting parts. We visited the Cliffs of Moher, one of the most breathtakingly beautiful places I have ever seen. I wasn’t sure if I would ever get the opportunity to see them in person, so while we were there, I tried to soak everything in (even if the heavy winds kept knocking me off balance). It was truly incredible, and I was at a loss for words while we were there. Even the pictures I took here really couldn’t capture the full beauty of the cliffs.

The other city we visited was Galway, on the western coast of Ireland. This is a very old city that still has strong Irish cultural influences as it was a little more on the periphery of British rule. My favorite part of Galway was listening to traditional Irish music in a pub. It was incredible to experience the pride that people took in preserving these traditions. They don’t take their culture for granted because it was withheld from the Irish people for so long.

After Galway, we made our way back to Dublin for the end of the trip. Along the way we stopped at a workhouse that was used during the Great Famine as a place for families to stay. It was a brutal place for people to live and many of them never made it out. To see a place like that and hear the stories was very humbling and made me appreciative of the opportunities that I have. We also stopped at Clonmacnoise, a monastery from around AD 500 that is still around today. Finally, we ended the night back in Dublin with a visit to the Abbey Theatre, the national theatre of Ireland, which was also founded as part of the Irish cultural revival. This journey across Ireland made me recognize Ireland’s rich cultural past, but also the suffering the Irish people have had to endure even more.

As I reflect on this trip, I feel grateful and fulfilled. I am grateful to have seen the country of Ireland and all the beauty of the land and cities it has to offer. I am also grateful to the Irish people, who were so welcoming, friendly, and helpful throughout the trip. Their kindness in welcoming us as visitors, even during a global pandemic, was very heartwarming and really helped make the trip a great experience. I am also grateful to have travelled with other people from PLP and gotten to know them better. Everyone was so open to learning and having a great time. It really did make the trip special. I also am grateful to have gained such a deep understanding for Irish history and culture that I did not know about before. The love and reverence the people hold for the leaders of the past, especially the martyrs of 1916 was beautiful to see. There is a very clear connection in Ireland between the people today and the freedom movements of the past. Combined with our studies of emergent and transformative leadership, this experience truly allowed me to see leadership from a new point of view.

I loved every moment, and I will remember this trip for a long time. So, again thank you so much to the Pioneer Leadership Program’s Passport Fund and the alumni for supporting me in my endeavors as I grew as a student, leader, and person!

By Vincent Pandey, current PLPer

Leave a comment