PLP Passport Project: Ireland Interterm

Whenever someone asks me about my winter break, I can barely keep a smile off my face, as say, “I had an incredible trip in Ireland!”  During the Winter Interterm 2021, I along with 23 other students, had the opportunity to study the Irish Independence Movement in the Republic of Ireland, which was possible because of the support of PLP alumni. We learned the story of Irish Independence from local historians and scholars, many of whom were personally impacted by the movement. Studying history in a classroom has its merits, however, it does not compare to seeing the execution site of Patrick Pearse at the Kilmainham Gaol, feeling the frigid wind whip through a workhouse in Portumna or hearing folk music in a traditional Irish Pub. I have always enjoyed learning about history but learning history in the place it happened and from the people it affected humanizes the stories. Back in a classroom in Denver, the experiences of the Irish people during their Independence Movement feel foreign and unimportant. However, when faced with the real-life consequences of history, its importance is suddenly clear.

This was the first history class I have taken that explored the perspective and impact of traditionally marginalized groups in history, mainly women. Initially, I was surprised at the involvement of women in the Irish Independence Movement. The Cumann na mBan, a group of Irish Republican women, were an integral force in the 1916 Rising. After the men were arrested by the British, the women were able to continue the rebellion, keeping the spark alive. As our tour guides continually referenced the impact of women, I realized that the history I learned, had primarily been from the perspective of white men. When they wrote their version of history, they largely cut women out of the narrative. This happens with all marginalized groups, though our course focused specifically on women. This course taught me a valuable lesson about the biases of history depend on who wrote it. It was a refreshing change of pace to be exposed to the broader story.

Along with the history, I was able to experience a different culture. Experiencing a different culture inevitably results in self-reflection, as our cultural assumptions are challenged. I believe this is an important part of self-growth and relished the opportunity this trip gave me to evaluate my cultural understanding. Even by simply experiencing Christmas in Ireland, I was able to gain insight on how the Irish people celebrate holidays. Being exposed to different cultures is also integral to developing as a leader. This was a PLP class, so we did study the leadership styles of various Irish Independence leaders, however, I was also able to cultivate my own leadership skills by participating in Irish society for a brief time. Learning about different people improves our ability to interact with and ultimately fuflill the purpose of a leader, which is to inspire people to succeed.

One of the reasons I chose to attend the University of Denver was because of its study abroad opportunities. DU works very hard to provide all students with the opportunity to go abroad and experience a different place, exposing students to people and cultures who are different than their own. These experiences are invaluable and offer things a classroom simply cannot. Unfortunately, the nature of international travel makes it unfeasible for many students. However, the University of Denver, recognizes the value of experiencing different cultures and makes every effort to assist students with the financial burden. PLP alumni recognize the value in assisting students with their leadership studies, and I was able to use my scholarship from the PLP Passport Fund to purchase my plane ticket to and from Ireland. Because of the generous donations of PLP alumni, I was able to spend my winter break in Ireland and have a wonderful experience.

By Madison Sinar, current PLPer

Leave a comment